News

Here’s a bamboo room divider that I finished recently. The client is also an artist so while the surface proved challenging-woven bamboo-the end result proved to be as “happy” as most of my art.

It’s funny, my writing is mostly on the dark side but my art invariably sings and shouts for joy. It’s a good thing, I guess, that everything has an outlet-my dark, sad stuff and the bright light that still manages to shine from the paint and pencils.

I am the featured artist on The Last Page in WNC Magazine, upcoming issue-Nov-Dec- so I am wildly happy about that. I’m barely able to say it out loud, but I am wildly happy about it. Check out the website

wncmagazine.com

(or pick up a magazine!) in a couple of weeks.

3 responses to “News

  1. That bamboo screen is awesome, Katie!! That is very hard to paint on, but what a wonderful job you did. Beautiful~~

    And congrats on the award! You are really flying in your art, and I am so happy for you. What a wonderful thing you are doing with it.
    Will check out the magazine.

    Love and Hugs~~

    Jane

  2. I love this piece. How much would you charge for something like this? We can talk more about it privately. I would think it would be somewhat pricey, with the challenges of the medium. We’ll talk. 🙂

  3. Hey there
    I am always ready to talk about commissioned pieces. If you have anything you want me to turn into an art piece, we’ll discuss it. Thsi piece was very challenging-bamboo weaving isn’t forgiving. But I love challenges. I like figuring out how to “make it work.” The client was very happy, so that makes me happy.

Leave a Reply

